Pro Tip: Unsend and edit messages on iPhone

In the Messages app with iOS 16, you can unsend or edit recent messages, giving you the opportunity to fix a typo or pull back a message that you accidentally sent to the wrong person. Your recipient sees that you unsent a message and your edit history.

How to unsend a message

  • Tap and hold a message bubble, than tap Undo Send

  • A confirmation note will appear in both conversation transcripts: yours and your recipient's

You can unsend a message up to 2 minutes after sending it. However, if the person you are messaging is using iOS 15.6 or earlier, iPad 15.6 or earlier, macOS 12 or earlier, or using SMS, the original message will remain in the conversation.


How to edit a sent message

  • Unlike unsending, you can edit a sent message up to 5 times within 15 minutes of sending it

  • Tap and hold the message bubble and tap Edit

  • Make any changes, then tap the check button to resend with edits or the X button to revert

If your recipient is using a device with iOS 15.6 or earlier, iPad 15.6 or earlier, macOS 12 or earlier, or using SMS, they receive a new message with your updated text.


< BACK