Pro Tip: Use iCloud File Sharing to share folders and documents with other iCloud users on Mac


With iCloud File Sharing, you can share folders and documents in iCloud Drive with other iCloud users. You and the people you invite can view and even work on your documents. The people who receive your invitation can click a link to download the shared folder or file from iCloud to any of their devices. Everyone views the same shared items. If you allow others to make edits, they can change the files and you see the updates the next time you open the files on your Mac.

Note: To use iCloud Drive folder sharing, your computer or device must have macOS version 10.15.4 or later, iOS version 13.4 or later, or iCloud for Windows version 11.1 or later.


Share folders or documents


1) To share a folder or document, do one of the following on your Mac:

  • In the Finder , select iCloud Drive, select a folder or document, click the Share button , then choose Share Folder or Share File. Tip: If the item is on the desktop, Control-click it, choose Share from the shortcut menu, then choose Share Folder or Share File.

  • In an app that supports iCloud File Sharing, open a document, click the Share button , then choose Share File.

2) Select the app you want to use to send the invitation.

You can use Mail, Messages, Copy Link, and Airdrop to send an invitation.


3) Click the “Who can access” pop-up menu, then do one of the following:

  • Choose “Only people you invite” to allow only invitees to access the folder or document.

  • Choose “Anyone with the link” to allow anyone who receives the link to access the folder or document. For example, your invitees can share the link and give access to others not included in the original invitation.

4) Click the Permission pop-up menu, then do one of the following:

  • Choose “Can make changes” to allow others to revise the items in the folder.

  • Choose “View only” to allow read-only access.

5) Click Share, then add the email addresses of the people you want to share with.

When the invitees receive your invitation, they can download the shared folder or file from iCloud to any of their devices. If you allow it, they can make changes to a document, and you see the updates the next time you open the file on your Mac.

When you share a folder with only invited people, only they can access the files in the shared folder. To add more participants, you must change the settings of the shared folder; you can’t change the settings of an individual file within the folder.



More Info: https://support.apple.com/guide/mac-help/share-files-with-icloud-file-sharing-mchl91854a7a/mac


< BACK

Lotus TechPros | Referral Rewards
amazon shop
icon-linkedin_edited.jpg
icon-facebook_edited.jpg
icon-twitter_edited.jpg
icon-instagram_edited.jpg
icon-youtube_edited.jpg

© 2020 Lotus TechPros